Travelog – A day in the life of a solo female traveller….in Amsterdam!

Recently I took a short break to Amsterdam. As I do most of my travelling ‘alone’, I often make use of coach tours, mainly for practical reasons such as saving money and my own personal safety, as I find with coach tours there is less to worry about as transport, accommodation and food is on the whole taken care of. Some people don’t like the idea too much as they perhaps view it as something older people would do  – admittedly I do tend to find that I am generally the youngest person on these tours, but that is not always the case. Nevertheless, it doesn’t matter too much to me, as a person’s age does not matter and I like to meet new people of different backgrounds and life experiences, and I do not tend to categorise people as much as I take people as unique individuals, so it works for me. Added to that, you do have the freedom to just ‘do your own thing’.

Travelling this way also has its drawbacks in that I’ve found that I have got used to it as a ‘safe’ way of doing things. I guess I would like to branch out a bit more as a solo traveller, but really I don’t know where to start. I’m hoping that over the course of my blogging adventure, I will be able to discover new and innovative ideas from you and others I come across who are more experienced in travelling.

Anyway, back to the story! 🙂 I took a short break to Amsterdam not long ago. Two full days were spent travelling by coach and by ferry. It was a good opportunity to relax, and get to know other people a bit, and to catch up on some films on my Kindle Fire!

That left less that one full day in Amsterdam. However, I have been there once before, several years ago as a child. This time I was alone as I adventured through Amsterdam on my own as we each dispersed our own way from the coach. I had longed to visit Anne Frank’s house, but unfortunately I didn’t realise that you had to book well in advance in order to be guaranteed entry. Thankfully, I was able to walk the street where she lived, along a canal, hear the nearby church bells ring, and remember the vivid scenes from my childhood/teenage imagination after reading her published diary when I was around twelve or thirteen years old. Amidst the noisy queues of tourists I took a moment to appreciate the many freedoms that I had that day that Anne and so many other victims of the holocaust had snatched away from them.

I also enjoyed a lovely canal boat cruise and tour, similar to the ‘hop on, hop off’ bus tours with audio commentary that there are. It was lovely seeing the city from a watery perspective! There are some beautiful ornate buildings, and of course lots of bridges and lots of bikes!! 🙂

I’m having trouble uploading photos just now, so I will create a subsequent post with photos from Amsterdam…watch this space! 🙂

P1130798.JPG

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Travelog – A day in the life of a solo female traveller….in Amsterdam!”

  1. I have been to Amsterdam 3 times in my adult life and still haven’t made it to the Anne Frank House! Somewhere I cannot miss next time! I did a bike ride also and the city is just so so so beautiful. If you’re still there look up Windmill Brewery! It’s awesome. Happy travels 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, thank you so for stopping by. I’m back home now, but will keep your suggestions in mind should I visit Amsterdam in the future. Someone I met on my tour bus said that she booked her visit to Anne Frank’s house a few months in advance, online – maybe you could do that if you are visiting again. It is beautiful isn’t it. A bike ride must have been fun! I didn’t have the time to do that, but I did enjoy seeing people innovatively using their bikes – did you notice that some had wooden carts on the front – apparently parents take their children to school that way! 🙂 I also saw one woman carrying a coffee table with one hand while riding her bike, and a man doing the same with a hoover! 🙂 Happy travels to you too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

