Can You Outrun Mental Health Issues?

Mindfump!

During my 15 years or so of mental health issues I have done many things to try and avoid, change, take control and cure myself of my issues. The things I do are often misinterpreted as things like ‘he loves to travel‘ or ‘he just loves exercise‘ or ‘he enjoys other cultures‘. Now that is not to say those things are not entirely true but it’s never the reason I do the things I do.

For instance, the first time I tried to outrun my mental health was not by using my legs but by moving to a new city. I lived in the north of England in a very small, insular town which quite literally suppressed ambition, creativity and change. My idea was that it was the town’s fault. It was to blame. So I left and this pattern continued for the next 10…

View original post 821 more words

2 thoughts on “Can You Outrun Mental Health Issues?”

  1. I don’t think we can outrun anything in life … although our thinking may believe it for a time. Rejecting what is real, causes more turmoil and suffering. Finding a way to bring those forces together and becoming focused and disciplined is a well known way to calm the mental state. I wish you wellness and continued exploration 💛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

