An Adventure on the Jacobite Express over the Glenfinnan Viaduct

Weekly Photo Challenge – ‘Bridge’

If it has felt like there has been a bridge between us for a while, with no sight of me, due to the fact that I haven’t blogged now for a few days, let it be known, my friends that this is for a good reason…

Yes, life and work has been busy and tiring at times, however, some of that time away from the blog has also been spent satisfying my ‘Wanderlust’ with some ‘wee adventures’…

So what a pleasant surprise it was when I reconnected with my blog to see that this week’s photo challenge is on the theme of ‘Bridge’! Well, the reason I am so pleasantly surprised by this is that just two days ago I was making my first journey on the Jacobite Express Steam Train in the North of Scotland from Fort William to Mallaig, travelling over the iconic Glenfinnan Viaduct. Now, I’m not a fan of Harry Potter and haven’t seen any of the films, however, you cannot go on the Jacobite and over the Glenfinnan Viaduct without being made well aware of the connections with the film.

If you have ever had the pleasure to travel or even live in Scotland, then you’ll know what a beautiful country it is, especially along the coast or up North. The train journey made it all the more spectacular. It truly was an exciting photography expedition for me, and I took these photographs with my head and arm out of the window as we curved around the viaduct.

I can safely say that these are some of the most enjoyable photos I’ve taken recently, and definitely ones that I feel grateful to have had the opportunity to take. Furthermore, the very acts of travelling and photography have turned out to be a bridge between me and fellow travellers who have requested that I email them my pictures as a memento for the journey.

Have you ever taken this trip? If so how did you enjoy your experience?

Much love. xx

 

train1train2train3

3 thoughts on “An Adventure on the Jacobite Express over the Glenfinnan Viaduct”

  1. I went last year and like you I’m not a HP fan but the trip is so famous I had to go. In fact I was due to drive from Fort William to Mallaig in the afternoon so I did the same route twice. I remember the train suddenly stopped to a standstill and I was wondering what the problem was, then realised it had stopped just before the viaduct to let people take photos 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

