The Greatest Train Journey in The World!….

Now, I don’t know whether that is strictly true, having limited experience of great train journeys, however that’s how it was advertised, and I decided that it might just be the mini travel adventure I needed.

I have travelled on trains in a few countries including India, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and America. All of these journeys have been memorable for me in some way or another whether that be the insights into different cultures, breath-taking scenery, or simply the novelty of travelling in a new country and unfamiliar environments. One particular train journey in India will stay with me throughout my life, as it involved an accident and me coming face to face with death, for the first time.  But that’s too deep to explore in this post.

There is something so nostalgic about steam trains – a piece of the past, and one unknown to me at my age, right here in the present.

So I decided to go for it: “AAAALLLL AAAABOARD!! The Jacobite Steam Train from Fort William to Mallaig, in ‘Bonnie Scotland’.

The tour however, which was by bus, departed from Glasgow (just a few days ago on Friday 7th July 2017), which meant travelling up to and spending an afternoon and an overnight in Oban before setting off for the Fort William departure by train the next morning.

A Whistle Stop in Oban:

Now Oban itself is a lovely harbour town, with interesting walks, Oban Whiskey Distillery https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/oban-distillery-visitors-centre-p418591, McCaig’s Tower https://www.visitscotland.com/info/see-do/mccaigs-tower-p255141 , boats and more boats, and plenty of nice eating places, including those where you can sample some delicious Scottish chips!

From Oban to Fort William to Mallaig:

The next morning I awoke to a beautiful view of the sun on the water, followed by a bus journey from Oban to Fort William where I boarded the Jaobite Steam Train for the first time, and made the journey from Fort William to Mallaig and back again.

It was definitely a memorable adventure, and a great opportunity for a spot of photography. Here are some photos that I took on my trip. I hope you enjoy! 🙂

P.S. I have plenty more photos of my trip – if you would like to see more, whether of Oban, Mallaig (which I haven’t posted here), or the Jacobite Steam Train and the Glenfinnan Viaduct, feel free to let me know and I can create a subsequent Gallery post.

Oban.jpg

Oban3.jpgOban2.jpg

Oban4

 

 

Leave a Reply

